Freia and the Knitwhit

A Blog about a Dog with some Knitting thrown in here and there

Contented Canine November 7, 2006

Filed under: Chesapeake Bay Retriever,Knitting,Walking the Dog — knitwhits @ 7:58 pm

Deadgrass DogYep, Freia and I have been AWOL for a few days, partly fun, partly work. I saw my dear friend and trusty trade show helper Christina at her baby shower on sunday. She’s the epitome of the beautiful mom-to-be. She’s positively glowing! Was nice to see her and her sister, meet some of her other (non-knitting) friends, and hey – I won a prize! I won an enormous gift basket of yummy smelling home fragrance stuff, and you know.. it’s not a bad thing for someone with a dog and two cats to have.

 

In knitting land I’ve come up with the cutest little kits that I will share with you shortly, but not just yet.. you will have to wait a bit to learn more. Trust me though.. this is cute. I’m excited. The patterns are getting written (by me) and the knitting is getting done (also by me). As for the Ponsietta Scarf, I’m still in love with that project too, but now I’m thinking it may need to be a sweater, the colors are lush and lovely, and the design is just the right proportion.

In Freia land, well for a change I took her to the vet today. Again. But hey, not for the bladder infection. Now she’s sprained her foot. I know, you would never know it from the picture here, but by the following morning she was limping and crying. Not good. So I gave her some anti-inflammatories that were left over from her spay operation and waited a day. Well, last night, same thing, crying in the night, and stiff and in pain by morning. As she warms up in the day, the pain subsides, and by the time of the appt. at the vet, she was almost normal, though the perceptive and very good vet could see that she was limping still a bit. We lay Freia down (it took 3 of us to do it.. fiesty little spitfire that she is) and all the manipulation in the world couldn’t get a peep out of the dog. It bothers her but it doesn’t. The vet thinks she’s a big crybaby, I call it sensitive (but I think she’s right). The verdict: 7-10 days of anti-inflammatories, no walks longer than 15 minutes and no running, or playing with other dogs. We are both going to be climbing the walls within 3 days, I just know it.

Before I forget, I learned about this organization on Frontline/World last night. I’d heard of microlending before, but then forgot. I’m glad for the reminder and I think I may get involved. Learn more about it here: www.kiva.org. You can really make a difference in a life, a family and a community with your involvement.

Here’s a little bit of sunshine for you. This is an ad that will be published in the next issue of Yarn Market News (a trade magazine distributed to yarn biz people). I’m going nuts for the bright colors right now.. maybe it’s owning a happy young goofy dog that’s doing it.

 

YMN ad

 

One Response to “Contented Canine”

  1. Christina Says:

    It was great to see you at the shower. I’m glad you’re enjoying the prize you won. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words.

    Sorry to hear about Freia’s sprain.

    I love the “Bright Ideas” ad. It looks like a very accurate and positive representation of your designs. Nice.

    ~ Christina


Comments are closed.