Freia and the Knitwhit

A Blog about a Dog with some Knitting thrown in here and there

Socks for Tots! November 13, 2006

Filed under: Chesapeake Bay Retriever,Knitting,knitwhits — knitwhits @ 7:07 pm

Socks for Tots!OK, I can’t stand it anymore. Here’s a peek at my newest kit adventure. Socks For Tots! I’m super excited about these. I’ve done 3 different ones, two that are the same style but different colorways, and this one pictured here, which I’m going to call “Crunch”, as in number crunch. This means of course that I will have to do a “Soup”, as in alphabet soup to match… The difference about these kits from my other sock kits is that these are for kids 3-6 years, one size fits most. They will come in the same little clear box that my flower kits come in and they look so darn cute!They really will make the cutest little gifts and the sweetest socks. I was going to wait to release them in January at TNNA, but Christmas is coming and I would be a fool to wait. Besides it will be nice to be able to have a bit of selling history to share with shop owners at the show. I expect them to retail for a little under $20, and I’m using the lovely machine washable Louet Pearl merino yarn that I use in my other sock kits.

Have a seatBut boy, do I have a lot to do in the next couple of days. I have to write up the patterns from my notes, make a second sock in some other colorway yet to be determined, create the web pages, (and associated graphics), assemble some kits, update website homepage, create patterns for download (I think.. not sure on this one, this may be a kit-only project… have to think on it a bit) and other stuff which escapes me right now. And why do I have to do this in two days? Because the picture above is an ad going up on the Knitter’s Review newsletter which comes out on Wednesday night, so I have no choice but to be ready for it.

I will show you pictures of the others as I can get to it, in the meantime, I’ve got some patterns to write!

On a quick side note, it’s pouring with rain outside. I walked to the post office with Freia so she could get some outside time, and now we are both soaked. She’s still itching to go outside and play and is driving me and the cats crazy. In the last five minutes she’s finally given up and is curled up on her pillow next to me, snoring.

 

One Response to “Socks for Tots!”

  1. Christina Says:

    Wow those are so amazingly cute. I can’t wait to see the other two. I am so buying some of those kits.

    ~ Christina


Comments are closed.