Freia and the Knitwhit

A Blog about a Dog with some Knitting thrown in here and there

And a little bit o’ knitting.. February 21, 2007

Filed under: Knitting,knitwhits — knitwhits @ 9:02 pm

My next venture into TV land is confirmed, with another taping of Shay Pendray’s Needle Arts Studio scheduled for the end of April. In addition to the projects that I present, I have always tried to wear something that I’ve made. For the Knitty Gritty episode that just aired I had made a lovely top out of Cascade’s Cloud 9, a super soft angora mix.

KnittyGrittyThe top is nice, and looks fine in this photo of Vickie and me taken at the taping, but it was not so kind to me on TV. It was really a 3 strikes issue, and nothing wrong with the top itself. #1, TV really does add 10 lbs, then #2, you factor in the microphone box tucked into the small of your back, pulling the top out of place, and then well, #3, the top is fuzzy..

That was taped a year and a half ago, before I got the dog and lost a bunch of weight from all the extended dog walks (14 lbs or so, give or take). The weight reduction came with absolutely no dieting, I still eat what I want, whenever I want and I’m keeping the weight off. (I feel I should add, the initial weight gain came from going from being a triathlon nut to someone who could barely walk – I injured my back in a skiing tumble, so limiting all motion and eliminating exercise from my world – somehow that didn’t stop me from eating though!).. anyway.. I digress. Now when I wear that top, it fits me the way I intended and is really quite decent looking.

Lattice TopSo, this leads me to my newest project. I’m working on what I’m hoping will become a nice lattice cable top to wear on Shay’s show. I like what I’ve done so far. My thought is to make a deep V-neck top, close fitting, long sleeved, with an elegant cable design. I’m working in the round for now; when I get to the neck I will work back and forth on the circular needle, and when I reach the armholes I will then work the front and back separately. I decided to go for working in the round as I think the stitches will be smoother and it saves me from unneeded seaming later on. I may even work the sleeves down from the body of the sweater to the cuff, starting with picking up the sts. around the armhole edge of the body. What’s also been interesting for me is because of the extended amount of cabling required for each round, I’m working without a cable needle. I will explain a bit more of this in a knitting tip, which I need to get back to doing. I have a list of knitting tips that I want to do, and only now am I seeing the light at the end of the tunnel regarding my crazy work schedule.

Of course, this new project is alongside the gloves with the goat locks trim and the poinsettia scarf also on the needles. I did just finish the redo of the new Mosaic hat, so that’s one less project to deal with.

Just a little bit o’ knittin’

