Freia and the Knitwhit

A Blog about a Dog with some Knitting thrown in here and there

Dana The Intern – Week 5 – Many Hills to Climb.. July 22, 2008

Filed under: Dana The Intern,knitwhits — knitwhits @ 8:05 pm

How do you sell a new idea to your customer, and what actions do you take in order for people to understand what you are promoting?  When I leave here in 3 weeks I want to feel as though I came up with or assisted in creating a marketing strategy that worked.  I think Purl Packs is a great idea for our wholesale customers to restock on their patterns quickly and painlessly. 

“How easy it is to go to the website, click on the pattern pack you want, and instantly you have 18 patterns arriving at your shop in a few days.  The Purl Packs only consist of new patterns or our best sellers, so we know they will sell fast once they are on the shelves.  What a great way to sell yarn as well!  Pair your favorite skeins of yarn with a great Knitwhits pattern, and you will be reordering yarn in no time.”

For the past two weeks I have been tossing ideas around on how to promote Purl Packs.  I have to do more than send monthly newsletters that talk about these pattern packs.  This is just one challenge I am struggling with, where I have to think outside the box. 

Creating a company around a concept, and trying to make a go of it, requires you to think outside the box.  The hardest part I have learned about running your own business is that there is a lot of trial and error.  You have to be mentally prepared to realize some of your best ideas may fail, and you have start all over again with new ones.  You never know what will work until you try to make it work.  Sometimes I think to myself, what keeps Tina going?  You have to have a passion for what you do, and her passion is design and knitting.

Tina and I will be in Seattle this weekend for the Northwest Needle Market.  This is my first “working” trade show, and I am anxious to see the outcome.  We spent time planning out what products we need to take, hoping to have the right mix that will all sell so we don’t have to bring it back.  I asked Tina several times “How do we know it will sell”?  She would say “You don’t, you just have to try an educated guess and hope that it will”. (Yup.. I pretty much operate on a wing and a prayer! 🙂 ) We know we want to bring some of the best sellers, but we also want to showcase the new products too.

The View from the Hill

The View from the Hill

This past week Aaron to me to the Legion of Honor, a fantastic art museum in San Francisco.  They had several pieces by August Rodin, and some other highlights were seeing paintings by Monet and Picasso.  After the museum, Aaron needed some stimulation so we went to Buena Vista Park.  We walked to the top of the hill to see a beautiful view of the city.  It took me a while to catch up to him as we hiked up the hill, he had to stop a few times and wait for me. 

Waiting for me at the top of Mt Everest

Waiting for me at the top of Mt Everest

I swear it felt like I was climbing Mt. Everest!  I am so glad he made me do it, because the view of the city was spectacular!  That night I was exhausted, needless to say I hit the couch when I got home.

I also got to experience the great shopping in the city on Sunday.  My friend Allegra took me to Westfield in San Francisco, and we ventured to some great stores around Union Square.  Some of my favorite stores were Barney’s, Bloomingdales, and Zara!  We were gone for 9 hours, and my legs and feet were numb when I got home.  That is one of my most memorable shopping experiences I have had, and I think everyone should endure that once in their lifetime!

I had a great week 5 at the Knitwhits studio and in the Bay Area!  It is sad to realize this will all be coming to an end soon, but my memories will last me a lifetime.

