Freia and the Knitwhit

A Blog about a Dog with some Knitting thrown in here and there

Knitting Tip #6 – Knitting a Braided Edge September 7, 2008

Filed under: Knitting,Knitting Tips,knitwhits — knitwhits @ 4:15 pm

In this tutorial you will learn how to do a two-color cast on using the long-tail cast on method, followed by instructions on how to create a knitted braid – I bet it’s easier than you think!
To order the pattern or kit featured in this tutorial, visit http://www.knitwhits.com/online_store/cotton_hats/siena.php (available in 3 colorways).

Let us know what you think of our tutorial!
Happy Knitting,

Tina

 

7 Responses to “Knitting Tip #6 – Knitting a Braided Edge”

  1. patonslake Says:

    I enjoyed that video and the instructions were very clear, thanks! It was also nice to see someone knit as I do, not the continental.

  2. Rhonda Says:

    Thank you for the clear video and excellent instructions for the braided stitch! I just love it when something looks much more complicated than it really is 🙂

  3. Sandra Says:

    Thank you so much for posting this video. I ripped back my braid many times trying to follow the written instructions in a pattern. Row 3 was the one that made no sense at all. Now it does. And it really was straightforward once I saw it being done. Thanks again!

    • Sandy Willoughby Says:

      Thanks so much for the video. I had written directions and they were not clear. You made it perfectly clear. Thanks. Now I will go try it.

  4. […] Tutorial April 12, 2010 No Comments And I love how she knits (link to her blog or watch below–but the blog is good […]

  5. kittenknit Says:

    This would make a nice finished edge even in one color. Thanks for such a clear video; great editing too! One thing that would help is to show slowly how you’re switching the yarns in your right hand.

  6. Keri Says:

    I came across your video on Reddit, now I’m reading your whole blog. Thank you for a gorgeously informative video, I can’t wait to try this stitch when I get home!


Comments are closed.